Paper bags and sowing seeds

Thank you very much to all those who contributed to and tweeted about the Week 4 posts.

The subjects of the posts were thought-provoking and honest, although sometimes difficult. Michael Canavan’s post about when CPR (Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation) may not be the best thing for someone, and Sharlaine Walker’s and Emma Lamont’s reflections on their changing attitudes to mental health nursing are well worth reading.

I must admit that Karen’s clear-out of papers and stretching the capabilities of a paper shredder sounded too familiar to me. I still have mountains of paper to work my way through.

Simon Hope wrote about schools closing in the snowy weather, even when the roads were clear (there may be other reasons for closing, such as a boiler not working), and how they could communicate the information better. It reminded me of damaging my wrists in different winters, slipping on ice slides at school (I hated those slides), being scared as the coach that took us to and from school skidded and slid along narrow country roads that had turned into thin white skating rinks. Our school must have closed occasionally due to bad weather but I don’t remember it.

I hope you will all be safe and warm in this cold snap. It’s a good time to do some blogging perhaps? For Week 5, I’m handing you over to the lovely Kate Bentham whilst I try harder to get some painting done and to get back into the blogging habit.

If you need a theme for the week [entirely optional], I suggest snowdrops or brown paper bags (Karen’s post reminded me of my grandad’s habit of saving brown paper bags, kept flat under seat cushions, and that I rarely see plain brown paper bags now).

Janet

Janet E Davis.

Summary of week 4 posts

A paper paragraph by Karen JK Hart.

Mental health nursing in Scotland – individual perspectives by Sharlaine Walker and Emma Lamont on the TaysideHealth blog.

Do Not Attempt Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation by Michael Canavan on the AyrshireHealth blog.

NHS Hack Day: Data Visualisation by Dyfrig Williams on the Good Practice Exchange at the Wales Audit Office blog.

Reputation: A School of Thought by Simon Hope.

"Buckbee's seeds full of life"

“Buckbee’s seeds full of life”

Weekly Blog Club was set up in early January 2012 to encourage people to blog regularly, and especially to encourage those working in and with the public sector, charities and voluntary organisations in the UK to find their own 'voice' through writing.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in #WeeklyBlogClub summary, communicating, disability, health, health services, leadership, local government, mental health, patient care, schools, snow, social media, training, working practices
One comment on “Paper bags and sowing seeds
  1. Cheers Janet! Just about dealing with the cold here, so it must be freezing up north! Hope the blogging inspiration kicks in and have a good 1!

    Dyfrig

Leave a comment

Categories